Final U18 Team Roster Named for Crucial World Cup Qualifier

A talented group of baseball players with a solid mix of youth and experience will travel to Sydney in January (18th to 21st) to play in the Oceania Qualifying tournament for the U18 Baseball World Cup in Canada later in 2017 following the naming of the final 20-man roster.

The team will be coached by former Japanese professional pitcher and Baseball New Zealand Assistant General Manager Naoyuki Shimizu and will be assisted by long-time Seattle Mariners organisation pitching coach and former MLB pitcher Gary Wheelock who helped the New Zealand Development Team at the recent Arizona Fall Classic. The pair will be assisted by former Diamondblack and current Baseball NZ Development Officer Dan Tan and former Houston Astros minor league player Nick Stanley.

Three of the players selected were members of the recent Major League Baseball Academy roster on the Gold Coast this year, including Aucklanders Kyle Glogoski and Correze Nepia and Australian-based Kiwi Ciaran Palmer. 

Players in camp at Auckland's Lloyd Elsmore Park were treated to some one-on-one coaching by New York Yankees shortstop Didi Gregorius who is in the country hosting clinics.

U18 Roster for BCO Qualifiers January 2017

Blacktown, Sydney vs. Australia and Guam

1. Charlie Beilenson - Malibu, California, USA

2. Abishek Brindhaben - Dubai, UAE

3. Ayden Dever - Sydney, Australia                       

4. Kyle Glogoski - Auckland, NZ

5. Ayrton Laird - Auckland, NZ                    

6. Anthony Moanaroa-Taylor - Sydney, Australia

7. Correze Nepia - Auckland, NZ

8. Keaton Nepia - Auckland, NZ                                        

9. Ciaran Palmer - Traralgon, Victoria, Australia

10 Benjamin Reeves - Melbourne, Australia

11. Brad Richardson - Sydney, Australia

12. Kane Swanson - Brisbane, Australia

13. Yuuki Takahashi - Auckland, NZ

14. Tairea Thompson - Napier, NZ

15. Shannon Underhill - Sydney, Australia

16. Kyle Anderson - Auckland, NZ                                              

17. Alexander Hill - Auckland, NZ

18. Tukuteihu Repia - Auckland, NZ

19. Jasiah Sheperd-Niu - Auckland, NZ

20. Eden Singe - Wellington, NZ



JTB Logo